Each society elects its own chair, vice chair, secretary and committee.

The officials have considerable responsibility. The names of the societies have, like the school itself, a lot of history.

Benedict is named after the Benedictine monks who lived, worked and worshipped at Sawley Abbey.


Curnock derives its name from Sister Ella Curnock, the dedicated nurse who ran the orphanage based in the main building of the school from 1939 to 1946.


Lister was the name of the wealthy family who once owned the land on which the school is built.


Walker society is named after Councillor Walker who was the school’s first chair of governors.

““Pupils are polite, well-mannered and respectful.”


“Teachers and pupils show mutual respect for each other.”


"Safeguarding policies and practice are highly effective."


"Pupils’ outcomes are outstanding. All groups make strong progress."